arranged albums

There have been many, many arrangements of Final Fantasy VI's music in the years since the game's release. This page covers the albums Square released dedicated solely to Final Fantasy VI.

As on the releases page, the catalog numbers on each listing below link to VGMdb, which is a database of video game music that includes much more indepth information on the soundtrack. You can find further staff information and links to reviews, as well as album scans and extra notes about the individual tracks where applicable.

Song names on this page use the localized titles; if you're unsure of a song title check the VGMdb listing. See the tracklist page for more information about song names.

Albums are listed by release date.

Final Fantasy VI Special Tracks

Composer: Nobuo Uematsu
Arranger: Nobuo Uematsu, THE VOODOO BROTHERS
Catalog #: PSDN-6101
Length: 20:55
Tracks: 11, on 1 disc
Release Date: 25 April 1994

  1. Approaching Sentiment
  2. Town 2
  3. Town 3
  4. Troian Beauty (remake)
  5. Techno de Chocobo (Another Mix)
  6. Approaching Sentiment (No Vocals)

This was a minidisc release of unreleased material for FFVI. The first song is a vocal track, performed apparently by the staff of the game. The next two songs are unused themes for towns in the game, followed by a remix of "Troian Beauty" from FFIV. The rest of the release is self-explanatory. It's a really rare album these days; it's never been rereleased. Aside from the "Techno de Chocobo" remix, though, I wouldn't say it's worth looking for; there are better releases.

final fantasy vi grand finale

Composer: Nobuo Uematsu
Arranger: Shiro SAGISU, Tsuneyoshi Saito
Catalog #: PSCN-5004 (reprint NTCP-5004)
Length: 54:27
Tracks: 11, on 1 disc
Release Date: 25 May 1994 (reprint 1 October 2004)

  1. Opening Theme ~ Terra
  2. Kefka's Theme
  3. The Mystic Forest
  4. Gau's Theme
  5. Milan de Chocobo
  6. Troops March On
  7. Kids Run Through the City Corner
  8. Blackjack
  9. Relm's Theme
  10. Mystery Train
  11. Aria di Mezzo Carattere

A full orchestral album performed by the Milan Symphony Orchestra (which is why this version of the chocobo theme is called "Milan de Chocobo"). The Aria di Mezzo Carattere is performed by Svetla Krasteva in Italian.

You can find a translation of the liner notes for this album at the FF Wiki. It's a very good album; this version of the opening and Terra's theme is one of my favorites.

Piano Collections "FINAL FANTASY VI"

Composer: Nobuo Uematsu
Arranger: Shirou Satou
Catalog #: PSCN-5005 (reprint NTCP-1003)
Length: 54:27
Tracks: 11, on 1 disc
Release Date: 25 June 1994 (reprint 25 July 2001)

  1. Terra's Theme
  2. Gau's Theme
  3. Kefka's Theme
  4. Spinach Rag
  5. Strago's Theme
  6. The Mystic Forest
  7. Kids Run Through The City Corner
  8. Johnny C. Bad
  9. Mystery Train
  10. The Decisive Battle
  11. Coin Song
  12. Celes's Theme
  13. Waltz de Chocobo

The top cover above is from the reprint; the lower is the original, which included a book of sheet music and English translations of the song titles. You can read a translation of the liner notes for this album at the FF Wiki. Out of all of the FF piano albums, this is one of my very favorites. Granted, I'm biased.

That ends the albums released by Square Enix solely dedicated to FFVI; however, there's lot more FFVI music out there. For more of the official arrangements released by Square, check out the compilations page, and for fan arrangements (including full albums), check out the remixes page.

topsite indexvalid htmlvalid css
Final Fantasy VI and its music is © Square-Enix.
No infringement intended. Awakening is © Larissa, 2007-2019.